Cy-Fair ISD Students to Perform with Houston Repertoire Ballet

Cypress, TX News (October 15, 2015) – Twenty-three Cy-Fair ISD students have been cast in the Houston Repertoire Ballet’s 14th annual performance of Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker, featuring HRB alumni Elizabeth Keller (Principal, Ballet Idaho) as the Sugar Plum Fairy and Jared Matthews (Principal, Houston Ballet and former Cy-Fair ISD student) as the Cavalier, with the Cypress Philharmonic directed by Glynnes Lanthier.

Houston Repertoire Ballet (HRB) is Houston’s premier pre-professional ballet company. Founded by nationally acclaimed teachers and choreographers Victoria Vittum and Gilbert Rome, HRB is celebrating its 20th anniversary season. For the last several years, HRB’s productions of The Nutcracker have sold out, prompting HRB to add an additional performance in 2015.

1015 Nutcracker

The goal of HRB is to give young, talented, dedicated dancers the serious training needed for them to enter the professional world of dance, and many of them advance to professional ballet companies throughout the country. HRB graduates have danced with New York City Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Miami City Ballet, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Atlanta Ballet, Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre, Houston Ballet and other prestigious companies.

The Nutcracker performances are Dec. 4, 5, and 6, and tickets can be purchased at

The following Cy-Fair ISD students will participate in The Nutcracker:

  • Sofia Moyano and Hannah Wilhelmsen, Cy-Fair High School;
  • Shea Ritter and Grace Schlafer, Cypress Ranch High School;
  • Finn Adams, Bailor Allen, Mary Damian and Courtney Reid, Cypress Woods High School;
  • Bobby Ginsburg and Henry Ginsburg, Jersey Village High School;
  • Elizabeth Cermak, Sarah Cermak, Andreina Hurtado and Rachel Pastrano, Langham Creek High School;
  • Katie McElroy and Mikayla Razzak, Anthony Middle School;
  • Evelyn Nava, Campbell Middle School;
  • Paige Hacker, Cook Middle School;
  • Hannah Stautzenberger, Hamilton Middle School;
  • Ariana Chaidez, Smith Middle School;
  • Journey Rasmussen, Victoria Vasisko, Clarissa Wallace and Isabella Wallace, Spillane Middle School; and
  • Lauren McClure, Truitt Middle School.