Cy-Fair Students Win Publications Awards

Eight Cy-Fair High School students won five awards at the 32nd annual Gloria Shields All-American Publications Workshop, held July 8-12 at the Dallas Marriott Quorum Hotel.

A total of 29 Cy-Fair sophomores, juniors and seniors who will be staff members on The Reporter newspaper or The Bobcat yearbook in 2012-2013 attended the conference along with journalism students from Texas, Ohio, Kansas, and Virginia.

The following students won awards: Kestra Derise won “Best Lead” in the Beginning Newspaper class; Harper Neitzy won “Best News Conference Story” in Beginning Newspaper class; Sarah East won “Outstanding Sidebars” and “Outstanding Copy” in Intermediate Yearbook class; and Rebeccah Barger, Desirae Hoover, Madison Fumic, Carly Wood and Anne Brown won “All-American Writer” awards in Specialized Writing class.

Leave a Reply

Sorry, but you must be logged in to post a comment.