Cypress, TX News – Cypress Ranch Key Club Members Earn Service Awards

Cypress, TX News (July 17, 2014) - Seventy-five members of the Cypress Ranch Key Club, the club’s Kiwanis Sponsor, and one of the club’s faculty advisers have earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award for 2013. The awards were presented at the club’s annual Installation and Awards Banquet on May 16.

The President’s Volunteer Service Award is issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation on behalf of the President of the United States to recognize the best in the American spirit and to encourage all Americans to improve their communities through volunteer service and civic participation. The organization was created in 2003 by President George W. Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers make to the nation.

Twenty-eight Cypress Ranch High School students won gold-level President’s Volunteer Service Awards at the club’s annual Installation and Awards Banquet on May 16.

The three levels of the award vary by age and hours of service completed within a 12-month period. The levels include gold, silver, and bronze, and the four categories include kids, young adults, adults, and families/groups. All award recipients receive a personalized certificate of achievement, a congratulatory letter from President Barack Obama, and an official President’s Award pin.

Twenty-eight students earned the Gold level award: Areebah Ahmad, Jacob Angst, Neha Daga, Amanda Donovan, Reena Gannon, Christina Gibson, Kimberly Haines, Al Hirani, Shehrez Hirani, Michelle Hoang, Amanda Hoth, Rachel Iselin, Ankita Kumar, Eliott Lee, Tiana Lopez, Riley Mass, Vishnu Nair, Olivia Poff, Swetha Rajagopalan, Brittany Robison, Noah Routh, Joseph Shanklin, Mackenna Shull, Zoe Stover, Lauren Van Fleet, Abigail Weeks, Revere Yiow, and David Zhou.

The Silver award was given to 18 club members: Kayleigh Buckley, Brock Burnett, Nadia Burns, Madison Chambers, Pamela Gonzales, Camryn Graham, Elizabeth Grimes, Bryson Haggard, Emily Hayes, Phoebe O’Keeffe, Eric Qiu, Siddarth Sankaran, Alexandra Shaw, Rebecca Shenoda, Ryan Simon, Mathew Walther, Vivian Who, and Anika Zaman, as well as faculty adviser Jennifer Hydes.

Twenty-nine members and the club’s Kiwanis Sponsor Louis Iselin have won the bronze award: Wilson Book, Kelly Boucher, Melissa Burket, Fernanda Castro, Michael Chan, Lauren Dossett, Jordan Fraase, William Fraase, Saydie French, Vanessa Garcia, Madison Garner, Kelsey Giallanza, Devon Grady, Trevor Hensley, Alexa Hernandez, Emily Honeywell, Brynna Johnson, Chad Lowery, Kayleigh Maqueda, Aksa Muhammad, Jason Qiu, Asha Raghu, Sam Routh, Toni Sanchir, Arya Shetty, Brooke Spurlock, Roshni Thachil, Reagan Wingo, and Byana Wyman.

Each Key Club member is charged to perform 50 hours of service per year to his home, school, and community. The 75 Key Club members recognized with the President’s Volunteer Service Award for 2013 collectively completed nearly 10,000 service hours in CFISD schools and the local community. Cypress Ranch’s large Key Club of 801 members performs tens of thousands of hours annually, and in the past two years has been chosen No. 1 and 2, respectively, in the rankings of the “Best Key Clubs in Texas and Oklahoma.”