News From Cypress Christian School

Cypress, TX (June 13, 2016) 

Largest Graduating Class in Cypress Christian School History
Cypress Christian celebrated its nineteenth commencement ceremony with a record number of seniors (60) graduating and moving on to college, careers and military service. Seniors were accepted to 234 different colleges and universities and earned academic, athletic and leadership scholarships from colleges and universities, businesses and organizations. Congratulations to Valedictorian Daniel Overton who plans to attend Baylor University and Salutatorian Dang Pham who plans to attend Cornell University. The following students were awarded CCS sponsored scholarships at the graduation ceremony: Faculty Excellence Scholarship-Daniel Overton; Will Rhodes Athletic Scholarship-Kylie Miller and Cale Soudelier; Fine Arts Scholarship-Karylina Parodi and Jordan Wandix; Spirit of Paul Scholarship-Hannah Gould; Andrew Gladney (’05) Memorial Scholarship-Dang Pham; and the Travis Chaffin Memorial Scholarship-Adam Thompson.

 Class of 2016 with 2016-R

Cypress Christian Fine Arts Students of the Year
The Fine Arts Department of Cypress Christian School is thankful for an amazing year full of award-winning performances and art competitions. Congratulations to the fine arts students of the year: Thespian of the Year-Jordan Wandix, Artist of the Year-Karylina Parodi, Drumline Member of the Year-Abbie Wynans and Choir Member of the Year-Emily Mahan.


Fine Arts Students of the Year

Warrior Athletes of the Year
The following Cypress Christian School student-athletes were honored as this year’s athletes of the year for excellence in athletics through their leadership, determination, sportsmanship, Christian character, academic achievements and integrity: Middle School Sword and Shield recipients: Anna Kharisma Fontenot and Jackson Landrum; High School Valiant Warriors: Emily Fredrickson and Christopher Geyer.

Valiant Warrior 2016-R  Sword and Shield 2016-R2

CyChristian Students Earn Presidential Volunteer Service Award
Each year CCS students log their community service hours into the Presidential Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) website at CCS high school students are required to complete 20 hours of service per year. However, many students go above and beyond. This year more than 50 high school students earned the award. The students listed recorded service from local community outreach to international mission trips. CCS is thankful for their heart of service and want to acknowledge these students as they learn to be the hands and feet of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ: Ashley Anderson, John Baldwin, Lauren Beach, Madelynn Beckman, Tessa Bodukoglu, Emily Boyd, Kaityln Buckley, Angela Cao, Adam Carr, Eliott Cloninger, Jordon Coates, Sydney Crofton, Olivia Crozier, Jacob Cyr, Victoria Davies, Emily Ellisor, George Fereg, Jenna Fox, Emily Fredrickson, Makayla Frye, Nathan Frye, Hannah Gould, Avery Gwyn, Shannah Hannahs, Matthew Hawkins, Tanner James, Ian Jones, McKayla Lira, Elizabeth McCary, Caitlyn McCreary, Cole Miller, Kylie Miller, Taylor Mohr, Landen Nealy, Emily Nicholson, Clayton Novotny, Timothy Odeyomi, Olivia Odom, Daniel Overton, Landen Overton, Ashley Ponicson, Zach Sanders, Scott Steinhauser, James Tadrzak, Gabrielle Tarantino, Allison Thompson, Elizabeth Usry, Julia Williams, Abbie Wynans, Will Young, Shelby Zerwas.

Presidential Volunteer Service Awards May 2016

Courtesy of Cypress Christian News